Briviact (brivaracetam): Reviews and patient testimonials

/static/themes-v3/default/images/default/opinion/traitement/intro.jpg?1564492295

Medication indications

Briviact 10 mg/ml oral solution

Briviact is indicated as adjunctive therapy in the treatment of partial-onset seizures with or without secondary generalisation in adult and adolescent patients from 16 years of age with epilepsy.

Briviact 10 mg/ml solution for injection/infusion

Briviact is indicated as adjunctive therapy in the treatment of partial-onset seizures with or without secondary generalisation in adult and adolescent patients from 16 years of age with epilepsy.

Briviact film-coated tablets

Briviact is indicated as adjunctive therapy in the treatment of partial-onset seizures with or without secondary generalisation in adult and adolescent patients from 16 years of age with epilepsy.


Route of administration: Injectable, Oral
Molecule: brivaracetam

Patients' opinions on Briviact

In brief

General satisfaction level: 8.00/10 Learn more

Treatment's effectiveness: 8.67/10 Learn more

Ease of use: 8.67/10 Learn more

Adherence to prescription: 8.67/10 Learn more

Detected side effects: 1.67/10 Learn more

Improvement in the quality of life: 5.67/10 Learn more

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Never
10 = Always

1 = Not at all important
10 = Extremely important

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

Tips and advice of the community


avatar
Sunshine5
on 05/01/2021

Following on from the previous comment on Briviact,  I have taken a turn for the worse, averaging 3 to 4 seizures a month since October 2020 and 3 Jan 2021. Despite taking Epilim and Clobazam. 

Your message


avatar
Sunshine5
on 08/10/2019

Taking Briviact has reduced my seizures and in July and August 2019 I had zero seizures. I take it in conjunction with Epilim and Clobazam. 

However  I had 3 complex partial absences in Sept ember as I overexerted myself at the gym.

I had gone to South Africa for 3 weeks in August to visit my in-laws with my wife and gained almost 3 stone. 

I was concerned as my BMI was in the Obese category so I over did it.

To date I've had 2 seizures over 2 days (6 & 7th October) caused by tension and anxiety in the family.

I hope to calm down as I see my Epilepsy Specialist on 17th and feel disappointed to have to report ongoing seizures,  despite taking 3 medicines instead of 2 to treat my seizures. 

Your message


avatar
Sunshine5
on 14/05/2019

I was prescribed Briviact in January 2019 at a dose of 50mg twice daily starting from 25mg once daily and steadily building up to the current dose.

I have been taking Epilim chrono 1,900mg a day (1,000am & 900pm) and 10mg Clobazam at at night. Since March 2014, when I was prescribed Clobazam,  I had 4 to 5 seizures a month. This is much lower than 144 complex partial absences i had each month since birth before 3rd April 2012 when I had surgery. I'm turning 39 this year.

Since taking Briviact,  my seizures have been well controlled but I wish to come off Epilim. I will need to observe my seizures for several months before my Epilepsy Specialist considers taking off Epilim.  I will ask if I can come off Epilim steadily and increase  Briviact to 100mg twice daily. 

I was told by epilepsy nurse that drowsiness,  and in particular mood changes such as irritability has been reported in Briviact. Fortunately I have not noticed these symptoms at all.

Your message

Members using this Briviact

Conditions related to this medication

Fact sheet

Epilepsy

See the fact sheet