Ursodeoxycholic (ursodeoxycholic): Reviews and patient testimonials

/static/themes-v3/default/images/default/opinion/traitement/intro.jpg?1564492295

Medication indications

Ursodeoxycholic acid 250 mg capsules

Ursodeoxycholic acid is indicated in the treatment of primary biliary cirrhosis (PBC) and for the dissolution of radiolucent gallstones in patients with a functioning gall bladder.

Paediatric population

Hepatobiliary disorders associated with cystic fibrosis in children aged 6 to 18 years.

Ursodeoxycholic Acid 300mg Film-Coated Tablets

Urdox tablets are indicated in the treatment of primary biliary cirrhosis (PBC) and for the dissolution of small to medium sized radiolucent, cholesterol-rich gall-stones in patients with a functioning gall bladder.

Cholesterol stones coated with calcium or stones composed of bile pigments are not dissolved by ursodeoxycholic acid. Urdox has a particular place in the treatment of patients in whom surgery is contraindicated or who are anxious to avoid surgery.

Paediatric population

Hepatobiliar disorder associated with cystic fibrosis in children aged 6 years to less than 18 years.


Route of administration: Oral
Molecule: ursodeoxycholic

Patients' opinions on Ursodeoxycholic

In brief

General satisfaction level: 3.50/10 Learn more

Treatment's effectiveness: 4.50/10 Learn more

Ease of use: 7.50/10 Learn more

Adherence to prescription: 7.50/10 Learn more

Detected side effects: 3.50/10 Learn more

Improvement in the quality of life: 3.00/10 Learn more

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Never
10 = Always

1 = Not at all important
10 = Extremely important

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

Tips and advice of the community


avatar
catwomanno.1
on 22/11/2019

Just to update on the UA unfortunately it didn't reduce the amount of stones that was producing.  This caused me to be admitted 5 times as stones were causing occasional blockages but each admission was hampered by severe infections which had to be treated by intravenous antibiotics followed by oral medication.  All along I had been told it was too dangerous to operate as I had so many adhesions and suffered with chronic nerve pain.  After I had my 5th admissions I was told that I urgently needed my gallbladder removed as there was a real risk I would develop sepsis in the bile duct.  Then there was a difficulty as no one wanted to perform the operation so I had the most senior and experienced surgeon in my county. He was brilliant the operation took over 9 1/2 hours as the infection was so severe that the gallbladder was turning to mush.  An abscess was leaking into the bile duct and the gallbladder had stuck to the bile duct, liver, bile duct and bowel which wasn't able to all be removed.  Still a week in HDU followed by nearly a week in a private ward in the main ward saw me make a recovery that had to continue at home for many months.  Now I'm fine and so grateful for the skill and patience of the wonderful surgeon who saved my life.  I can't express my thanks for what this amazing man did for me.  Never give up we never know who's just around the corner who can perform amazing operations even if it takes 3-4 times as long as it usually takes. Poor man missed his lunch and tea he must have been so hungry as well as shattered but what an absolutely brilliant man. πŸ˜€πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‰πŸ˜‡πŸ‘¨πŸΌ‍βš•οΈ

Your message


avatar
RebeccaH
on 06/11/2019

I'm new to treatment.

Having my 1st set of bloods since starting end of the week. so may find out if any improvement in that.

I have had some bad bowl motion since starting , presuming its a side effect.

Trying not to over indulge on fats,sugars and spice as this makes it worse :-(

Itching has reduced , however I still feel awfully fatigued most of the time.

I'm hoping this will improve over time. 

Your message


avatar
catwomanno.1
on 06/06/2019

I took this medication for about a year but no obvious improvement for my condition.

I think that maybe I was to late when prescribed this drug as I still continued to develop gallstones. My gallbladder was full of them with one that was so large that the surgeon had difficulty removing it as his instrument couldn’t keep hold of it. It was all the small stones that cause the problems as they are the ones that escape and cause blockages.

i didn’t experience any obvious side effects but it was difficult to monitor as I have a number of chronic conditions which require different medication. 

Your message


avatar
catwomanno.1
on 02/07/2018

This is a difficult one to assess as I’m prescribed it to stop the formation of further gallstones. My surgeon who prescribed these didn’t think that they were effective in dissolving gallstones. So until I require another ultrasound scan I will not know if they have been effective. 

Your message

Members using this Ursodeoxycholic

Conditions related to this medication

See the fact sheet