Vimpat (lacosamide): Reviews and patient testimonials

/static/themes-v3/default/images/default/opinion/traitement/intro.jpg?1564492295

Medication indications

Vimpat 10 mg/ml solution for infusion

Vimpat is indicated as monotherapy and adjunctive therapy in the treatment of partial-onset seizures with or without secondary generalisation in adults, adolescents and children from 4 years of age with epilepsy.

Vimpat 10mg/ml syrup

Vimpat is indicated as monotherapy and adjunctive therapy in the treatment of partial-onset seizures with or without secondary generalisation in adults, adolescents and children from 4 years of age with epilepsy.

Vimpat 50mg, 100mg, 150mg and 200mg film-coated tablets

Vimpat is indicated as monotherapy and adjunctive therapy in the treatment of partial-onset seizures with or without secondary generalisation in adults, adolescents and children from 4 years of age with epilepsy.


Route of administration: Injectable, Oral
Molecule: lacosamide

Patients' opinions on Vimpat

In brief

General satisfaction level: 3.50/10 Learn more

Treatment's effectiveness: 4.00/10 Learn more

Ease of use: 8.00/10 Learn more

Adherence to prescription: 8.00/10 Learn more

Detected side effects: 8.00/10 Learn more

Improvement in the quality of life: 8.00/10 Learn more

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Never
10 = Always

1 = Not at all important
10 = Extremely important

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

Tips and advice of the community


avatar
lesmal • Ambassador
on 18/05/2020

At long last I have managed to stop this medication... Am so relieved as this gave me a number of side effects which affected me emotionally and physically; seizures occured more often and I am grateful I have finished my 12 week weaning off Vimpat! 

Your message


avatar
lesmal • Ambassador
on 15/02/2020

Too many side effects for my liking... Will be visiting Neurologist to request going off Vimpat. 

Your message


avatar
lesmal • Ambassador
on 29/06/2019

I am new on Vimpat since visiting the Neurologist a few weeks' ago. At the same time take both Tegretol and Phenytoin for my epilepsy.

I'm also now being weaned off Tegretol after 30 years on the medication, and dosage of Vimpat is being increased by 50mg. every 2 weeks. 

So far so good with Vimpat; a few allergic reactions initially but nothing serious. Drowsiness appears to be the worst! 

Thank you! 

Your message


avatar
lesmal • Ambassador
on 08/06/2019

Can anyone give an opinion on this medication?

My Neurologist is changing me from Tegretol soon. 

Thank you. 

Your message

Members using this Vimpat

Conditions related to this medication

Fact sheet

Epilepsy

See the fact sheet