Fencino (fentanyl): Reviews and patient testimonials

/static/themes-v3/default/images/default/opinion/traitement/intro.jpg?1564492295

Medication indications

FENCINO 12, 25, 50, 75, 100 micrograms/hour Transdermal Patch

Adults

Fencino is indicated for management of severe chronic pain that requires continuous long term opioid administration.

Children

Long term management of severe chronic pain in children from 2 years of age who are receiving opioid therapy.


Route of administration: opinion.traitement.transdermal
Molecule: fentanyl

Patients' opinions on Fencino

In brief

General satisfaction level: 7.00/10 Learn more

Treatment's effectiveness: 7.50/10 Learn more

Ease of use: 5.50/10 Learn more

Adherence to prescription: 6.50/10 Learn more

Detected side effects: 9.00/10 Learn more

Improvement in the quality of life: 8.50/10 Learn more

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Never
10 = Always

1 = Not at all important
10 = Extremely important

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

Tips and advice of the community


avatar
catwomanno.1
on 22/11/2019

Fencino is fentinal patch made in Italy. My pain consultant suggested this particular patch after I experienced a number of problems with the patches ability to adhere itself to my skin. I have used this patch for a number of years with very few problems. The biggest problem has been to remember when to change the patch every 3 days.  It is so easy to forget to Remember to change the patch thus making it less effective.  There are numerous side effects with this patch especially when it is late when changed.  These are severe headaches; forgetfulness;  dizziness; high levels of pain which can render the patient unable to move and have to retire to bed.   This can be for relatively long periods of time for example up to 6-7 days  usually it is 2-3 days in bed as the pain is so intense. Once the fentynal patch has been changed and the level of fentynal reestablished in the blood stream the pain levels gradually decrease until the pain is more manageable. 

Your message


avatar
catwomanno.1
on 22/11/2019

As Fentynal patches have to be changed every 3 days it's easy to forget to change them at the correct times.  I always write the date when due to change on the outer sealed pouch. It's not usually to long before I realise that I'm late with changing the patch.  Sometimes, however, I can totally miss changing the patch even if I'm in so much pain.  I can become very confused and think that I'm having a flare up and nothing to do with the patch not being changed.  When I eventually realised the real reason for my excessive pains and inability to get out of bed, I change the patch straight away. It takes some time before the effects kick in and I can be left with side effects for a further 24 hours. These are inability to sleep either at all or for very long periods; severe head pains; severe  arthritis and nerve pains; forgetfulness; fatigue; feeling nauseous and having diarrhoea.   

However, once the patch kicks in fully and the side effects subsidies it's not long before the pains subsidies and I'm back to feeling 'normal '! Then I can usually get out of bed and start moving about again albeit slower for a while! 

Your message

Members using this Fencino

Conditions related to this medication

Fact sheet

Chronic pain

See the fact sheet