Mirtazapine OD (mirtazapine): Reviews and patient testimonials

/static/themes-v3/default/images/default/opinion/traitement/intro.jpg?1564492295

Medication indications

Mirtazapine OD 15mg tablets

Mirtazapine is indicated in adults for the treatment of episodes of major depression.

Mirtazapine OD 30mg tablets

Mirtazapine is indicated in adults for the treatment of episodes of major depression.

Mirtazapine OD 45mg tablets

Mirtazapine is indicated in adults for the treatment of episodes of major depression.


Route of administration: Oral
Molecule: mirtazapine

Patients' opinions on Mirtazapine OD

In brief

General satisfaction level: 3.00/10 Learn more

Treatment's effectiveness: 2.00/10 Learn more

Ease of use: 8.67/10 Learn more

Adherence to prescription: 7.33/10 Learn more

Detected side effects: 7.67/10 Learn more

Improvement in the quality of life: 2.33/10 Learn more

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Never
10 = Always

1 = Not at all important
10 = Extremely important

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

Tips and advice of the community


avatar
YazminPelling
on 12/11/2020

I'm still quite new to the medication but at the moment they aren't working

Your message


avatar
WinterSky
on 05/07/2019

It’s doing nothing to improve my mood. If anything, my depression is slipping back into seriously low ground. I see my psychiatrist next week, which can’t come quick enough, I need off this and onto something that will work ASAP.

I absolutely don’t condone, or recommend anyone copy me, however, I am self-prescribing double the dose. It’s still having little to no affect on me. I have a history of drug resistance and I’ve been forced to do this before to alleviate symptoms. 

side effects: over eating crap sugary food. I’ve been taking my meds of an evening (approx 9pm) as prescribed to help me sleep (fail) but I’m still awake in the early hours until I can’t resist raiding the kitchen for biscuits, cake, chocolate, ice cream to pig out on. My weight has ballooned. I have only been on them since March but I’ve gone up a dress size.

Your message


avatar
WinterSky
on 28/05/2019

Initially, felt improvement of mood but I’d say on a scale of  0-10 that I’ve settled for a 4 or 5 on average. When I first transferred to this med I was about a 1 and would have grabbed the 5 but surely I’m entitled to a better quality of life? It’s still just existing, not living.  I see my psychiatrist to review them next month.

side effects - over eating became apparent with immediate effect. I barely had an appetite before taking them. I have never had a natural sweet tooth,  ie it has occurred as a side effect of prescribed medication, notably this one, before. However, even this has settled down which makes me think I am becoming resistant to the medication.

Self medicating - I have taken double dose on a few occasions because I don’t feel it is working. I am fully aware that this is something I should never do without instruction. Yet, taking 30mg instead of 15mg has had no visible or remarkable improvement in mood.

Your message

Conditions related to this medication

Fact sheet

Depression

See the fact sheet