Tecfidera (dimethyl): Reviews and patient testimonials

/static/themes-v3/default/images/default/opinion/traitement/intro.jpg?1564492295

Medication indications

Tecfidera 120mg and 240mg gastro-resistant hard capsules

Tecfidera is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with relapsing remitting multiple sclerosis (please refer to section 5.1 for important information on the populations for which efficacy has been established).


Route of administration: Oral
Molecule: dimethyl

Patients' opinions on Tecfidera

In brief

General satisfaction level: 7.92/10 Learn more

Treatment's effectiveness: 8.00/10 Learn more

Ease of use: 9.70/10 Learn more

Adherence to prescription: 9.00/10 Learn more

Detected side effects: 5.64/10 Learn more

Improvement in the quality of life: 7.67/10 Learn more

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Never
10 = Always

1 = Not at all important
10 = Extremely important

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

Tips and advice of the community


avatar
KarenS
on 06/07/2021

I prefer this to my previous medication which was injections.  At first the side effects for me were flushing and nausea.  If you can get past the first month then these subside. I still get flushig occansionally, but i take antihistames and they work fine.  I also get a runny nose which apparentaly is not meant to be a side effect but i know many people who suffer with this !  I have had no relapses since i started taking this but last September i got Trigeminal Neuralgia, which is extremley painful, not sure if this is caused by MS but probably is !

Your message


avatar
Lindseymarcy
on 08/04/2021

I've been using tecfidera for around a year and had no problems with it. I have missed it occasionally but other than that I've been fine as long as I take an aspirin before the morning one to control the flushing etc.

 Definitely recommend over injections anyday!

Your message


avatar
TashaJ89
on 05/01/2021

Tecfidera has not worked well for me at all. Severely worsened symptoms including fatigue, numbness, muscle weakness, headache etc. I went down multiple avenues trying to find out if it was MS related or another reason with no answer from GP or Neurologist. I stopped taking Tecfidera just before Christmas and within 72hours my symptoms had dramatically improved. I still suffer with all symptoms but now it's all manageable and not leaving me bedridden 

Your message


avatar
Fluffyman
on 07/04/2020

I take 1 antihistamine tablet about 1/2 an hour before I take my first morning tablet, which helps the hot flushes that causes me to itch a little bit like an allergic reaction with rashes but it only lasts for about 5-10 minutes then I’m fine 

Your message


avatar
Daisybuster
on 07/04/2020

The aspirin helps a little.

Your message


avatar
Daisybuster
on 07/04/2020

Can cause upset tummy and flushing hot sweats.

Your message


avatar
Lindseymarcy
on 06/06/2019

Take an aspirin before to limit redness. also anti diarrhoea tablets aswell to help with side effects 

Your message


avatar
Lindseymarcy
on 06/06/2019

I have found this Tecfidera to be easy to use with limited side effects.

I was advised on first use to take my first pill with an aspirin before hand to help with the flushing of face.

I now do this every time before taking and have had no problems with it since and no red face 

Your message

Members using this Tecfidera

Conditions related to this medication

Fact sheet

Multiple sclerosis

See the fact sheet