Spiriva Respimat (tiotropium bromide): Reviews and patient testimonials

/static/themes-v3/default/images/default/opinion/traitement/intro.jpg?1564492295

Medication indications

Spiriva Respimat 2.5 microgram, inhalation solution

COPD

Tiotropium is indicated as a maintenance bronchodilator treatment to relieve symptoms of patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD).

Asthma

Spiriva Respimat is indicated as an add-on maintenance bronchodilator treatment in adult patients with asthma who are currently treated with the maintenance combination of inhaled corticosteroids (≥800 µg budesonide/day or equivalent) and long-acting β2 agonists and who experienced one or more severe exacerbations in the previous year.


Route of administration: opinion.traitement.inhalation
Molecule: tiotropium bromide

Patients' opinions on Spiriva Respimat

In brief

General satisfaction level: 9.25/10 Learn more

Treatment's effectiveness: 8.75/10 Learn more

Ease of use: 6.25/10 Learn more

Adherence to prescription: 9.50/10 Learn more

Detected side effects: 2.75/10 Learn more

Improvement in the quality of life: 8.75/10 Learn more

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

1 = Never
10 = Always

1 = Not at all important
10 = Extremely important

1 = Not at all satisfied
10 = Extremely satisfied

Tips and advice of the community


avatar
Janmadill28#
on 04/05/2020

My husband is 51 and I am 67. I have COPD, on Tiotropium , also have diabetes type 2, Fibromyalgia, and Polycythaemia. My husband is due to start back at work on the 11th May on a construction site. How can I self isolate safely please. Any help would be welcome x 

Your message


avatar
Jontt44
on 02/04/2020

I recall the original had difficulties preparing to use, especially if asthma bad. I moved from instructions to activate. This included as with other conditions I have leaves me always. Therefore I pressed down the piston part using a solid table which inserted easier, as able use strenth of body and not just arms. 

I am aware of another difficulty not associated with myself but of at first, an assistant in chemist whilst waiting for a prescription (Now delivered as on the acute list now) Fact was she was not able to understand anything how to load and charge and also not enough strength to do it. ( Something manufacturers not taken into consideration and strength of a person who unwell from maybe not just asthma. The problem still exists regarding loading and charging especially if very poorly. I in fact explained to both assistant and female patient I had just come out of trialling Respimat, (still on today with 3 other inhalers and numerous medications.) With assistant and patient permissions, I would explain and show the easiest way to both load two parts and then I emitted the first dose explaining why. Went further by charging the next  dose for the patient. Telling any difficulties to have a family member or neighbour to help as both assistant and patient still thought it looked difficult to understand and strength needed? Hopefully, future development take explanation instruction's, the strength needed to use if weakened by other health conditions?

I myself have numerous including heart and prolapsed disc and weakness of taking various type steroids from tablets and inhalers since age 14. Years. By far Ventolin is easier fortunately as can be needed to use quickly in an emergency? (I call it both Lifesaver and avoid sometimes 999 hospital admittance. Although Foster has a counter were by Ventolin you have to shake, know how much left to use? Still, best inhaler ever produced simple and easy to use in Emergency as a back-up.

Your message


avatar
Madknitter
on 09/01/2020

I was impressed that I could reduce the amount of plastic waste this inhaler could produce by only needing to order the cartridge in future prescriptions and not the whole thing. However every time I reorder the entire unit arrives. When I have asked my pharmacy about it, they don’t stock the cartridge on it’s own. 

Your message


avatar
Jontt44
on 06/09/2019

You need some strength or gadget to insert capsule inside tube, If not ask someone else as I was informed Pharmacist very good but have Prescription delivered. Also needs a direction > for initial turning until get used to using. 

Your message

Members using this Spiriva Respimat

Conditions related to this medication

Fact sheet

Asthma

See the fact sheet
Fact sheet

COPD

See the fact sheet